32px_Search Created with Sketch.
Shape Created with Sketch. Back to projects

Open Data

Did you know that almost all the information about the city, its services, facilities, population, economy, environment, etc., exists digitally? By making this information freely available in the form of open data, new services can be developed for residents, businesses and visitors. An advantage for the Smart City!

Why and how are data made open?

Digital data are extremely useful for public institutions, but also for researchers, the press, citizens and businesses. However, they are not always available. Open data refers to all data or public information of a non-personal nature that is collected electronically by governments in the context of a public mission and with public resources.

Open data offers numerous advantages in terms of administrative simplification: greater transparency in the functioning of the government, ensuring increased efficiency and innovative re-use by citizens, businesses, academics and organisations, whether for commercial purposes or not. This can create new wealth, for example by combining the data to develop applications. Specifically, such an open data policy can create 180 million euros and 1,500 new jobs in the Brussels economy.

In order to centralise all the data from the Brussels-Capital Region, the BRIC (Brussels Regional Informatics Centre) has developed the portal opendatastore.brussels. It gives free access to all data provided by the Brussels authorities and their partners in various formats, particularly in the areas of mobility, health, environment, cartography, etc. This portal is designed for the administrations of the region and the municipalities, but also their private partners.

How can open data be used?

Do you want to use the data collected by the Brussels government? Via the portal site opendatastore.brussels, you can submit requests regarding the provision of data which has hitherto not been made available by the public administrations.

These data are made available in electronic form by using open standards and can thus be re-used free of charge or at marginal cost. The re-use of data may be linked to a licence which sets out the conditions of use (such as source indication and date of publication) in order to protect legal certainty for re-users without restricting the possibilities of re-use.

How does Easybrussels contribute specifically to Brussels policy on open data?

The missions of the agency for administrative simplification are described in the strategical objectives of Easybrussels. They detail that the agency has to:

  • meet public services to promote open data and the portal site.
  • support the various public services by making an inventory of the existing and future data provided on the portal site.
  • together with the BRIC, following up the requests of users and the responses to these requests by the various public administrations.
  • promote open data at various events such as Open Belgium and hackathons.

32px_Search Created with Sketch.
Shape Created with Sketch. Retour aux projets

Open Data

Saviez-vous que presque la totalité des informations relatives à la ville, à ses services, à ses équipements, à sa population, à son économie, à son environnement… existent sous la forme de données numériques ? En donnant libre accès à ces données sous la forme d’Open Data, de nouveaux services peuvent être développés pour les habitants, les sociétés et les visiteurs. Un atout pour la Smart City !

Pourquoi et comment rendre accessible les données ?

Les données numériques représentent un intérêt non seulement pour les institutions publiques, mais également pour les chercheurs, la presse, les citoyens, les académiciens et les entreprises. Elles ne sont toutefois pas toujours disponibles. Par Open Data, on entend l’ouverture de toutes les données ou informations publiques à caractère non personnel qui sont informatisées et collectées par les pouvoirs publics dans le cadre d’une tâche publique et avec des moyens publics.

Ces données ouvertes offrent de nombreux avantages en matière de simplification administrative : une plus grande transparence du fonctionnement des pouvoirs publics, permettant une augmentation de leur efficacité et une réutilisation innovante par les citoyens, les entreprises, le monde académique et les organisations avec ou sans objectifs commerciaux. Elles peuvent ainsi créer de nouvelles richesses, par exemple dans le cas de combinaison de données pour le développement d’applications. Concrètement, une telle politique d’Open Data peut rapporter 180 millions d’euros à l’économie bruxelloise et contribuer à la création de 1500 nouveaux emplois.

Afin de centraliser toutes les données de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, le CIRB (Centre d’Informatique pour la Région bruxelloise) a développé le portail opendatastore.brussels. Ce portail offre un accès libre à toutes les données proposées par les services publics bruxellois et leurs partenaires sous différents formats, notamment dans les domaines de la mobilité, la santé, l’environnement, la cartographie, etc. Ce portail s’adresse aux administrations publiques de la Région et des communes ainsi que leurs partenaires privés.

Comment utiliser les données publiques ?

Vous souhaitez utiliser des données collectées par le service public de Bruxelles ? Via le portail opendatastore.brussels, vous pouvez introduire des demandes pour la mise à disposition de données qui ne sont pas encore proposées par les administrations publiques.

Ces données sont mises à disposition sous forme électronique par le biais de standards ouverts et peuvent ainsi être réutilisées gratuitement ou moyennant une légère rémunération. La réutilisation de données peut être liée à une licence qui spécifie les conditions d’utilisation (comme la mention de la source et de la date de publication)pour protéger la sécurité juridique des réutilisateurs sans pour autant limiter les possibilités de la réutilisation.

Concrètement, comment Easybrussels collabore à la politique bruxelloise d’Open Data ?

Les missions de l’agence pour la simplification administrative sont repris sous les objectifs stratégiques d’Easybrussels. Elles détaillent que l’agence doit :

  • rencontrer les services publics pour promouvoir l’open data et le portail
  • aider les différents services publics à dresser un inventaire des données existantes et à venir
  • assurer le suivi, en collaboration avec le CIRB, des demandes des utilisateurs et de la réponse donnée par les différentes administrations publiques
  • promouvoir les open data à divers événements, tels que Open Belgium et hackathons